“Higher/Lower”-style card game (Jave ME)

Overview/Features:

  • Implementation of the Higher/Lower style game from shows such as Play Your Cards Right and Card Sharks
  • Custom comparator for high score list
  • Persistent data storage on the mobile

Description:

Those who have seen “Play Your Cards Right” or “Card Sharks” will know how to play this game. Given a card, will the next card be higher or lower? It’s essentially a coin toss but the odds are not stuck at 50:50, instead they change depending on whether the first card was a low card (such as 2 or 3) or a high card (such as Queen or King).

This is an implementation of this game for mobiles using Java ME. It scored a 98% for the Mobile Applications and Systems module during my masters degree and I was also asked for permission for it to be used on display for things such as open days for the prospective mobile-based undergraduate students.

Media:

The splash screen for the game

The splash screen for the game

The main menu

The main menu

And the options available...

And the options available…

High score screen is blank. So lets try a few rounds.

High score screen is blank. So lets try a few rounds.

And I failed on the first card!

And I failed on the first card!

New game, but not a great starting card. As per the tv show rules, I'm allowed to change the first card once (and only the first card)

New game, but not a great starting card. As per the tv show rules, I’m allowed to change the first card once (and only the first card)

A better card, and note the lack of the change option now.

A better card, and note the lack of the change option now.

A correct answer!

A correct answer!

(And eventually we get to) game over again. Since I have a non-zero score, I can add my name to the high score list.

(And eventually we get to) game over again. Since I have a non-zero score, I can add my name to the high score list.

Confirmation of addition to list

Confirmation of addition to list

After a few games, we have an ordered list of scores (descending)

After a few games, we have an ordered list of scores (descending)

Code is available by request to the companies I have applied for. Please contact me by either email, land-line phone or mobile phone using the details on the C.V. I sent you.

One thought on ““Higher/Lower”-style card game (Jave ME)

Leave a Reply

